A Better Me

May 5, 2011

8 weeks

I found out about the 8 Weeks to a Better Me project through Cara-Mia, but given my poor track record with blog challenges, I mentally wrestled with it a bit. Blame laziness, flightiness, life getting in the way–whatever it is, I should probably not commit to anything blog-related that lasts more than a few days. That being said, I like the Week One challenge of coming up with three blogging goals. I can do that. I can do that right now, in fact. (No one said I actually have to accomplish them right? …Kidding.)

Three Goals

1. Write something I’m proud of. I started this blog to get away from the emotional, TMI days of Livejournal, and in fact, La Vie Toni was little more than a photo blog initially. But I have encountered so much inspiring writing lately that I’ve started longing to venture out bit more with my own writing, to put a little more effort into the process, maybe reveal more of myself in it. I found an old letter an author wrote to my mother once, decades ago (she gave it to me, I wasn’t snooping), and this line stood out to me: It seems clear that one part of my path is to be open about my life. How bout that. Sure, she was addressing the fact that she was writing about orgasms for a newspaper column. But being open, in general, is scary. And yet I find that it is so rewarding for me when other writers take that risk, that I think the benefits outweigh the discomfort. I’m not necessarily talking about writing about really personal issues, it’s just that writing in itself is personal. Any writing, if you put your heart into it. I know, because when I’ve done it, I’ve often felt sick with nerves after. For the sake of the blogging “challenge,” I’ll focus on writing one meaningful post for now.

2. Cook a meal I’m frightened to cook (and document it). There are vegetables I look at longingly in the grocery store, tantalized by their strange beauty but intimidated by the thought of transforming them into something edible. Or maybe they’re ready to eat, and I just don’t know it. Because I have no clue where to begin. There are grains I’m always reading about that are healthy alternatives to pasta, but when I get hungry, it’s so much more comfortable to throw together some spaghetti and tomato sauce. Indian food–don’t even get me started. I’ve tried some easier-looking recipes with poor results, but the complicated recipes with lists of ingredients a mile long that I’ve never even heard of? I have yet to attempt one, despite having multiple cookbooks devoted to Indian cooking, my favorite food genre. It’s time to tackle one (or more) of these suckers.

3. Subscribe to my favorite blogs using an RSS reader. I think I’ve subscribed to one using Google Reader. I don’t know. I’ve been very confused about this whole process, but I get the sense that I’m living in the dinosaur age by not using one.

And that’s it! Lookin’ forward to it. Thanks to Sometimes Sweet and I Typed for Miles.

3 Responses to “A Better Me”

  1. Cara-Mia Says:

    Great goals! I’m looking forward to 1 & 2. :)

    I was wary about committing to this challenge because I have no idea what topics will be covered, but I figured I’d be adventurous. We’ll see how it goes for both of us!


  2. […] RSS – PostsRSS – Comments « A Better Me  |   […]

  3. Ana Says:

    I have the same problem with challenges – in the virtual and real world. The challenges you picked seem fairly doable (and yes, I don’t know anything about RSS feeders and all that).


Leave a Reply

