Gotta Get Down On Friday

April 15, 2011

Grandcarol

From left to right: My grandmother, unknown, my great-grandmother, my great-aunt. Another family photo I found through a relative’s Facebook. I love this picture.

Right now I’m getting ready to give a presentation of my Master’s work to faculty and students in my department, and I’m nervous. Other school things coming up in the next week or two:

Finish MA project paper
Write and present on 10-page paper
Write 15-page paper
Complete take-home exam
Grade 20 20-page papers

S-t-r-e-s-s

Edited to add: One of these men is my great-grandfather. I’m just not sure which!

Homer

3 Responses to “Gotta Get Down On Friday”

  1. Ana Says:

    I too love this picture and your grandmother seems like the most fashion-forward one there. She doesn’t have any curly bangs, for one – her hairdo would look just as current today. She’s also the only one wearing pants (pedal pushers), flat thong sandals, and the structured shoulders of her top seem to be… studded? Compared to her cutely conservative sister, she is kind of a bada$$. Fabulous!

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Ana, that’s probably my favorite comment I’ve ever gotten on my blog! I even sent it to my mom haha. You’re so right about this picture. I get the feeling my grandmother was a badass in the family and she is still remembered for being so beautiful and stylish.

  3. cary herold Says:

    …and the body language! Yes, I love the comments of Ana, too. Very perceptive and well put. =) THAT”S my momma!


Leave a Reply

