Picture This

March 13, 2011

Alas, I forgot to bring any memory cards home with me for spring break so I didn’t take a single picture…very unlike me. But frankly, I don’t care. I had a good week, didn’t get quite enough work done (surprise!), and now it’s the Sunday night before school starts back–minus one hour, thanks a lot, daylight savings*–and I’m dreading preparing to get back into the weekly work groove.

I ate really well for about the first half of the break. I would have loved to snap some photos of the spreads of fruit that went into my smoothies (or sometimes that were just eaten in their natural state) each morning…kiwis, strawberries, bananas, clementines, blueberries, and more. I ate plenty of other healthy stuff, of course, but it wasn’t as pretty. I went on some great runs in my parents’ neighborhood, newly energized with my mom’s iPod Shuffle. And then I sort of stopped for the second half of the week, succumbing to the vacation mindset. Tonight’s my last hurrah as I make my favorite buttery spaghetti sauce and tomorrow I’ll get back on track with nutrition and exercise. It’s easier to do when I’m going through my normal structured routine anyway.

The good news is I didn’t spend much money over the break. Often, when I have a lot of free time on my hands, I do a bunch of shopping, eating (and drinking) out, going to movies, whatever. I still did some of that, but in moderation. And the spring break wish list in my previous post? Well, I just can’t justify splurging on the semi-expensive shoes, and the Forever21 items are actually all sold out now anyway. Good.

Last weekend seems so long ago already, but I got to look at wedding venues with my best friend, her fiance, her mom, and some family friends. It was really fun and they picked my favorite spot (obviously it is their utmost concern to satisfy my every desire with their wedding) and I can’t wait for that big old party next year. And the bachelorette party and bridal shower I’m in charge of :)

Goodness. A post with no pictures. This feels so wrong.

*I actually love this time change, despite losing the hour.

Update: Here we go, a photo from spring break I got from my friend’s Facebook. Whew.

Spring break 2011

One Response to “Picture This”


  1. As a writer, I find it exquisitely difficult to ignore a blog post beginning with ‘alas’.


Leave a Reply

