Eating Well: Figuring it Out

March 2, 2011

So my dinner tonight has almost everything I said I’m trying to cut back on–pasta, bread, butter, and cheese.

But it also has tomatoes, green beans, red peppers, mixed greens, and the pasta is whole wheat. For flavor I used balsamic vinegar (confession, I initially spelled that “balsalmic vinager”), freshly squeezed lemon juice, dried Italian herbs, and salt and pepper.

Dinner

Also, now that my Girl Scout cookies are, ahem, gone (and I don’t plan on re-stocking), I’ve found that small amounts of dark chocolate really do satisfy my sugar cravings, or sometimes making green or herbal tea does the trick too. Good to know.

It’s a start…

Dinner

I guess I should figure out what my goals are when it comes to eating well. It’s not about calories, although since I don’t know anything about calories I’m sort of interested to find out how many I generally eat in a day. Idk. It feels a bit like opening Pandora’s box; the more I read about it, the more I realize how complicated eating can be. And I just want simple. Michael Pollan style, like, eat mostly plants. I don’t want to suddenly start obsessing over food when I never have before in my whole life. I think I just want to establish better habits and break the routines that make me feel sluggish or that could contribute to health problems down the road.

And yeah, I like the idea of seeing physical change as I focus on exercising more and eating better. I’ve always been tall and slim and so far I’ve never needed to lose weight. I did begin putting on some pounds late in college but I sort of see that as a healthy growing out of my awkward, super-skinny adolescence. It’s not a problem, but I’d like to look more fit, muscular, toned, whatever.

Patrick and I went running for the third day in a row this afternoon (we’ve been doing it for longer than that, but not always daily) and I am just having a blast. I know a large part is that it’s an excuse to enjoy the beautiful weather, and frankly, if it were cold outside–or even much hotter–I’m not sure I’d be so enthusiastic. But never mind that; for now, setting aside 30 minutes to just get outside, be active, and forget about my worries for a little while has been great. I love my running shoes. I love my exercise clothes. They’re all just so much more comfortable than the clothing I wear on a daily basis. I’m having fun, if you can’t tell. I plan to start adding some other types of exercise into the regimen. I don’t really know what I’m doing but lord knows there are infinite resources out there to teach me.

2 Responses to “Eating Well: Figuring it Out”

  1. gmomj Says:

    Looks like a well balanced delicious meal!

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks :)


Leave a Reply

