Craigslist Round-up!

February 21, 2011

I did a few Craigslist round-ups back in 2009 (here, here, and here) when I was moving to Gainesville. Now that my lease is a few months away from expiring, I’m starting to think about what my next place might look like, since I don’t actually have a whole lot of furniture I plan on taking with me. Now, it might be some time before I’m decorating a new home, considering I may live with my parents for a while, or even do some traveling abroad. But it’s fun dipping my toes in the water again.

All of these items were listed on the Gainesville and Jacksonville-area Craigslists yesterday (they’re about an hour from one another, and my parents live in Jacksonville). I was planning on linking to every item and including the price, but I just don’t have time for all that right now. Most of these range from free (!) to under $200. Excuse the tiny bit of overlap in my “collections” :)

Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist
Craigslist

I learned one thing from this exercise: one day in the not too distant future, I will have me a mother f’ing vintage hutch.

I must say I’m pretty happy with what I found, considering the local Craigslist generally seems to suck. There were several other pieces that seemed promising, but the picture quality was just too horrible to bother posting, or they didn’t really fit with the other items I was including here.

As for the furniture I already have, I’m starting to think about ways to spruce it up–painting, refinishing, refurbishing. It’s intimidating, but maybe this summer I’ll have some time on my hands to give it a try. I’ve been in love with this perfect cottage since I saw it a year ago, and I absolutely adore how the furniture was painted in primary colors:

Croatia
Croatia
Croatia

But making that work in a “real” home, rather than a fairytale cottage in Croatia might be tricky..

One Response to “Craigslist Round-up!”


  1. […] still enamored from the same styles I’ve posted previously in recent months (here, here and here–if you scroll down), and what I’ve decided about my taste is that if I keep coming back […]


Leave a Reply

