Hot Date

February 19, 2011

Trying to follow my (many) New Year’s resolutions, I’ve finally started taking steps–um, literally–to exercise more. So far that has included buying running shoes and starting an 8 week running plan for out of shape folks, dancing along to a DVD of Britney Spears videos my sister got me for Christmas (and looking amazing doing it, lemme tell you…), and walking even more often than I already do. I suspect the gorgeous, perfect, miraculous warm weather has helped jump start this kick, which reminds me, I’m seriously considering moving to South Florida because I am just so crazy in love with the warmth. Anyway.

This morning I walked to a coffee shop to do some reading and later in the day walked to the grocery store, where I had admittedly planned to buy junk food for a Saturday night at home alone (see the title of this post). But I think I was feeling so good from my fitness boost that I couldn’t bring myself to buy chips and cupcakes as planned…instead I browsed through the recipes on display in the produce section and decided to try a few. Tonight’s was this tomato zucchini gratin, and it was the first zucchini I’ve ever bought, actually. I thought this dish was delicious, mostly because it tasted like pizza. Seriously. The mozzarella, the tomatoes, the herbs, the garlic, the olive oil. Yum. The recipe is online here, though my version notes that you can use 1 tsp dried thyme in the place of 2 tsp fresh thyme, which I did.

Tomato Zucchini Gratin

Tomato Zucchini Gratin

Tomato Zucchini Gratin

Tomato Zucchini Gratin

Tomato Zucchini Gratin

To complete my Saturday night date with myself, I’m thinking of having fruit with homemade whipped cream for dessert and watching Phantom of the Opera, which I’ve been obsessing over and listening to and watching Youtube clips of for months. How could you not??

I was going to rent it on Netflix until I realized that this level of obsession probably warranted buying the damn movie. Actually someone else pointed that out to me, because it didn’t cross my mind. I’ve bought about four movies in my whole life. Well, now I’m at five.

Every possible facet of my life is crazy right now, but in spite of all the stress, I’m feeling very alive in a good way. I have big decisions to make, a lot of excitement alongside the nerves, and I just feel that I’m at an important, transformative, crossroads-sorta-place. The trick is to keep myself motivated and inspired and positive through the challenges. And so far, I’m doing alright.

Leave a Reply

