Busy Bee Seeks Advice!

February 15, 2011

I have had no time to take pictures or write or cook or clean or anything else non-school or work related for that matter. I am just soo busy right now (yeah, I am dying for the day all my posts DON’T talk about how busy I am), but I have been bookmarking inspirational stuff in my Tumblr, like this,

Square America

Square America

so feel free to check that out in the meantime! (Images from the greatest website of all time, Square America.)

I will say this: I’ve got the travel bug, bad, and I’m dying to get out of the country this summer. But seeing as I am a poor grad student living on a meager income and student loans–and I’m graduating this semester–I’m not sure how feasible this is. I’m also really unskilled at managing all the details involved in planning an international trip so I’m drawn to packages and tours from companies like STA Travel or EF College Break (preferably ones that cater to youngish people even though I’m older than the typical college student). Another option I’ve been looking at is using BUNAC’s services and working abroad. I dunno. ANYONE GOT ANY ADVICE/TIPS/FEEDBACK? I guess I should face the monstrous task of applying for my American passport soon, huh.

Remember these photos I took in Scotland? I want to take a whole bunch more in a whole bunch of new places.

DSC_1175

DSC_1174

Scotland

Scotland

Scotland

Now excuse me while I get my butt off the computer chair and uncurl my back from hunching over the keyboard. Bout to go running for the first time in years! Take that, New Years resolutions.

4 Responses to “Busy Bee Seeks Advice!”


  1. Hi! So I randomly stumbled upon your blog entry about wanting to get out of the country and do some traveling. I just wanted to say that there are a TON of ways students can travel for super cheap. The most expensive part is the plane ticket, but once you’re where you want to be it’s easy to not spend money. I’m obsessed with couchsurfing, and if you’re not familiar with it there’s a post on my blog about it. But basically it allows you to stay for free anywhere in the world and meet awesome people while doing it. Also, I had a paid job in Italy teaching English that was probably one of the best things I have ever done. The money you make easily offsets the price of a plane ticket and you get to see all of Italy while doing it. Let me know if you would be interested in hearing more! Traveling is by far my favorite thing and I love helping other people find awesome experiences abroad! Anddd I’m not biased or affiliated with any company :-)

  2. segmation Says:

    I would not recommend EF tours. They charge different prices and do not honor the $150 if you sign up by Feb 28th. What has your experience been with them? I know if I post a promotion for $150 off if you sign up before Feb 28th, I honor it.

    Please advise.

  3. Mallory Says:

    Hang in there! The final stretch of grad school is tough. I feel like it’s the last chapter or paragraph of a book I’ve been reading for awhile – somehow that bit at the end is the hardest to get through.

    I was totally thinking just this morning that I would become a dedicated blogger again once May hits. Here’s to graduating! (soooon)

  4. lavietoni Says:

    Acrusingcouple – Thanks sooo much, I really appreciate the feedback and I left a comment on your blog.

    Segmation – I have no experience with EF tours, I had only browsed their website. Sorry to hear about your troubles with them, but thanks for your recommendation.

    Mallory – THANK YOU! It really is difficult to process that life right now is only going to stay this way for a couple of more months! I think if I fully grasped that, it would cheer me up :b Good luck to you too!


Leave a Reply

