Adventures in Henna

February 7, 2011

I finally dyed my hair with henna over the weekend (100% pure, mixed with lemon juice, paprika, and cloves…). I really like the results so far–it’s much brighter in the sun or other light btw–but apparently it takes about four days for the bright, coppery tone to “oxidize” and deepen into a darker red. So. Hmm. It will be interesting to see what happens. Honestly I did a horrible job applying the stuff Saturday and had to touch up spots I missed in my roots Sunday. In a few weeks I’ll probably do it again, just to build on the color. When I get the urge to change my hair, I don’t do subtlety. I also want to make sure I get other sections I didn’t really cover. As the woman who cuts my hair always tells me, I have a lot of hair, and the mud-like henna is so thick it’s difficult to get every strand coated.

These aren’t the most gorgeous photos but you get the idea.

Red hair

Red hair

I highly recommend looking into henna; with a little reading and preparation, it’s awesome. I mean, I would have loved to go to a Turkish bath and spend a day dying my hair, socializing, and getting massaged, but doing it at home is kind of fun too, and I love dying my hair without chemicals. I really didn’t expect the color to show up in my hair very well, but, happily, I was proven wrong. Check out Henna for Hair and here’s another great postand great blog!–I came across in my Googling. Oh, my original inspiration was Casey :)

9 Responses to “Adventures in Henna”

  1. ronnyking Says:

    gorgeous results, just remember that if you should ever decide to get it proffesionally colored in salon to tell your Stylist that you’ve been using henna. Henna is notorious for being unpredictable when color/highlighting over it.

  2. Katie Says:

    That looks super pretty – especially against the green sweater! :)

  3. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks Katie and Ronnyking!

    I would def let my hair stylist know, but everything I’ve read says that 100% pure henna (body art grade, which I used) doesn’t interact react with other dyes (and I dyed over my own highlighted hair), only compound henna that includes additional ingredients causes those kinds of problems. Let me know if you have heard otherwise!

  4. Cara-Mia Says:

    Wow! This came out so great! Red hair is my absolute favorite, & I’m jealous of you for being able to pull it off so well. ;)

  5. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks so much! I think most people can pull any color off though :) Honestly.

  6. Jess Says:

    That (hair) color is very pretty on you. It turned out great!

  7. stealthnerd Says:

    That color is soooo pretty on you! And I love the waves in your hair!


  8. […] Paris Sublime Mousse Hair Color (inadvertently in two different colors). I know. I had done the all-natural henna two months ago and was raving about it. Then my roots started to grow out. And all thoughts of […]

  9. Cait Says:

    wow! your hair is stunning! you have a really similar color to mine naturally, do you remember the exact recipe of henna you used?


Leave a Reply

