Ebb and Flow

February 2, 2011

If it isn’t obvious, I haven’t been much in the mood for blogging here lately. I’m so incredibly busy with my final semester of graduate school (which includes doing my MA project, balancing two jobs, and serving on a conference committee on top of classes) that I don’t have the time or inspiration. I’d say I’m in a funk. I know this kind of thing has an ebb and flow and I’m sure this won’t be the case for long, but goodness, as of now, I’m trying desperately to climb out of the hole I’m in–just so many humongous tasks to accomplish, so many I’ve fallen behind in, so many more to come in the next few months. My stress has turned into a lot of fear and the fear has turned into avoidance, and now I’m finally trying to conquer some of the stuff I’ve been avoiding.

One thing I have realized is that while I really can’t do anything to make my life less stressful right now beyond conquering my to-do list–there’s just no getting out of all my current obligations–in the future, I will never again spread myself so thin. I have no idea what’s going to happen when I graduate. Will I find a job? If so, will it be a career-oriented one, or something less serious? Will I move back in with my parents? Will I be able to do any traveling? Only time will tell. But whatever the case, I am going to focus more on making myself happy and healthy. (Really I’ve already started, but it’s not fun yet–it’s work. For one thing, I’m finally attempting to overcome my driving phobia and learn how to drive.)

Here are some pictures that cheer me up, all from the fabulous blog An Indian Summer. They’re just all so beautiful. I’ll be keeping these in mind wherever I move next. I love the idea of combining bold colors and patterns with minimal “stuff.”

Via An Indian Summer

Via An Indian Summer

Via An Indian Summer

Via An Indian Summer

Via An Indian Summer

5 Responses to “Ebb and Flow”

  1. Priscilla Says:

    The color scheme of that bedspread in the second-to-last pic was the color scheme for my friend’s mixed wedding. She was marrying a Indian man and she comes from a Catholic background, so among the white and classic, was this amazing wash of pinks, oranges, and yellows. Sooo beautiful!

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Sigh. I want a wedding like that. Sounds lovely. I can’t wait to do something with those colors, myself.

  3. Jackie Mott Says:

    Driving will give you a surge of confidence, and a strong sense of freedom-it’s a MUST!

  4. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks Jackie! I’m looking forward to that.


  5. […] past. I’m still enamored from the same styles I’ve posted previously in recent months (here, here and here–if you scroll down), and what I’ve decided about my taste is that if I […]


Leave a Reply

