25th birthday! Photos, fashion, and disorganized ideas…

December 11, 2010

Yesterday was my 25th birthday! Patrick gave me two of the items off the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) wish list I posted recently…

Bday gifts

…and we went out to dinner at an Indian restaurant last night, which, I realized, we’ve done for my last 3 out of 4 birthdays. Each in a different city though. For me, all other food pales in comparison to Indian cuisine. Mmm, I’m already thinking about the leftovers I’m having for lunch today.

Bday

Okay 30 for 30ers. I’ve taken to cheating. When I started the challenge November 2, I didn’t anticipate being only 2/3 done by the time I was doing school finals, celebrating my birthday, and visiting NYC. I still want to create 30 outfits out of the 30 items, but I’ll admit I’m being a little loosey goosey about the rules at this point.

Bday

These were kind of poor quality, low-light photos so I had some fun editing them. I love this dress! I caved and bought it on Etsy recently after looking at it daily and dreading the day it would be sold–especially since it was $36 compared to many of the vintage dresses I bookmark on Etsy that cost much more. But I could just tell it would fit wonderfully (never mind that I’m not entirely sure of my measurements…I just knew). And I was right :) It’s difficult to see but there is also beading at the top. Just enough detail to add some umph.

Other notes on the outfit: 1) I layered two pairs of tights as I’ve seen others do round the blogosphere, great idea for the cold I’d have never thought of. 2) I’m still wishing I had some comfortable close-toed pumps. Had to wear these because the other heels I own slip right off my foot. 3) I don’t normally wear my hair up for special occasions but due to running behind schedule, I did last night and I was really happy with the results. 4) Finally, I’ve been wearing this headband constantly because it’s the only one I own that’s a firm u-shaped style, rather than the soft kind that go around your whole head, if that makes sense…

Bday

It was a great day and I felt pretty spoiled.

Since my birthday falls in December, I usually start doing life assessments around this time of year, a melding of new year’s resolutions and thoughts on getting older. The nice thing about blogs (or not even blogs, because pre-internet journals work too) is that I can go back and read through this stuff. Because I write similar entries every friggin’ year. I mean, since I was a kid. And they’ve been strangely static for at least 5 or 6 years.

Common themes going back to 2005, if not further:

  • Travel outside the US
  • Buy less
  • Learn how to drive
  • Volunteer for a cause I care about
  • By physically active

Still pretty relevant. Still good ideas.

I saw a writing prompt going around as part of reverb10, a month-long blogging challenge that I am not officially participating in because the last thing I need is another 30 31-day challenge. But the first prompt was this:

One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

Alive. That’s the word that encapsulates my 2010. I have felt very, very alive. Sometimes raw. Emotional. Moody. Not always entirely happy. But so full of feeling that adrenaline courses through me almost daily, in response to music, conversations, daydreams. I choke up a lot, especially at things I think are beautiful or sweet. I am easily awed. And perhaps nothing makes me feel more alive than recognizing (honoring?) the fact that life is fragile and going fast. That has become more real, less abstract, to me this year.

I would not say 2010 has been a year of action. I haven’t done a lot to claim this life with the ferocity I’d like. I think 2011 will be a year of action though. The fact that I’m completing graduate school sets the stage for action, it provides a transitional period, an opportunity to be seized that doesn’t come every year. I get to consider my career options. Could move to a big city. Could hold off on getting a real job for a while. Could teach English abroad.

Goals. Oh how I’m sick of writing about goals but I can’t give it up.

  • Use free internet tutorials to learn one or more new skills that I’m interested in
  • Start driving lessons and write about the process
  • Send cards and letters, make phone calls, return emails, give more thank you notes…do better about communicating and staying in touch with people
  • Minimize my stuff
  • Surround myself with inspiration that’s good for me (encouraging a more fulfilling life, better financial management, healthy habits, travel, etc.) and fewer temptations to obsess over shopping, beauty
  • Organize kitchen, bathroom, desk area so they’re easier to navigate
  • Plan meals better, prepare food ahead of time, don’t let so much go to waste

Big(gest) dreams.

  • Go abroad for an extended amount of time (as in multiple months). Maybe teach English, maybe volunteer, maybe work in some other capacity…
  • Meet my sister in person

Little things I’d like to do in the next few weeks.

  • Bake my grandmother’s fudge pie
  • Go to the butterfly garden

4 Responses to “25th birthday! Photos, fashion, and disorganized ideas…”

  1. Linda W Says:

    Happy belated birthday. I love the dress, 30 for 30 cheat or not :) But I really love you hair..you look very regal!

    The Auspicious Life


  2. Happy Belated Birthday! Your birthday look is totally fabulous–with a dress like that I would cheat too for such a special day! :-)

    I make yearly goal lists too! I always love to see where I was last year and how far far I’ve come (or not come!) in just one year!

  3. No Says:

    Your pics here look like something out of a classic B&W movie. Stunning.


  4. […] but soon I’ll be at my parents’ house again and probably in a more normal routine. I was right. 2011 is my year of […]


Leave a Reply

