30 for 30: What day is this? 13?

November 28, 2010

30 for 30

So I had several 30 for 30 days that I did not get pictures of during the Thanksgiving holiday, and a few others in there where I stayed in sweats all day. I’m not going to dwell on this, but I do plan to move along much more quickly from here on out. A 30 for 30 outfit a day, a picture a day. Luckily it looks like the weather may cool down soon (who knows for how long) so hopefully I can get some wear out of the heavier jackets and sweaters that sit untouched in the challenge so far.

Today’s getup has led to comments from my family members that I look like a) I’m going on a job interview, and b) I’m going on a date. I am doing neither. Moving on.

Despite proving to be a slacker in the 30 for 30 department, Miss B Gets Dressed made sure I wouldn’t feel too badly about myself because she kindly passed on the Versatile Blogger Award to me. Thank you Betsy! I am so glad I discovered your blog through this challenge! Here’s the deal:

1. Thank and link back to who gave you the award
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Pass it along to 7 other blogs you recently discovered and enjoy
4. Leave your recipients a note, telling them you awarded them the award

So. Hmm. I have been such an over-sharer on the internet (ahh, the days of Livejournal) for years that there are probably no fun tidbits that I have not already mentioned once or twice. But hey, surely everyone doesn’t know everything. Let’s see:

1. When I was a kid I was very involved in community theater, starred in a couple of school plays, and desperately wanted to be an actress in New York.
2. I was born in Canada, my brother and one sister were born in the US, and another sister was born in Switzerland. I’m Facebook friends with my adorable Swiss Sis and hopefully we will meet in person for the first time in 2011!
3. My senior year of college I kind of randomly won a writing contest and was awarded a grant to conduct research in Germany for two months, but for various reasons I never went (I mainly blame the organization for offering me very little logistical support and little time to make it happen).
4. I also signed up for a study abroad program in Costa Rica that was very inexpensive–the only one I could afford–but the program was canceled due to low enrollment. I really, really wish I could have studied abroad.
5. I love the book Heidi and enjoy seeing the different ways it has been illustrated.
6. The high school I graduated from was the 8th school I attended.
7. My first concert was Boyz II Men (with Montell Jordan opening). TLC was supposed to be there but canceled. I will always love the Boyz, and have ever since my first boyfriend–in third grade–made “I’ll Make Love to You” our song.

Seven great bloggers I’ve recently discovered (mostly, if not all, through 30 for 30):

Cute and Little
Juxta-Posting
Literate and Stylish
The Fabulous Life of Not-So-Rich and Infamous
Woodycakes
The Curator Style
Miss Melissa

I think I’ll finish with some Thanksgiving food pics. I made soup, vegetarian stuffing, and another lemon buttermilk pound cake at my house Wednesday and brought them to my parents’ place. This was the first year that we only celebrated the holiday with immediately family–five of us–in a very long time, and my dad didn’t even get back from working out of town until Thursday morning. So my mom, siblings, and I took care of everything. It was a pretty relaxed, mellow day, which I really enjoyed.

Thanksgiving cooking-0638

Thanksgiving cooking-0686

DSC_0742

DSC_0723

DSC_0750

DSC_0753

Thanksgiving cooking-0641

Thanksgiving cooking-0647

Thanksgiving cooking-0669

Thanksgiving cooking-0683

DSC_0719

DSC_0693

DSC_0725

DSC_0720

DSC_0736

DSC_0726

DSC_0743

5 Responses to “30 for 30: What day is this? 13?”

  1. Ana Says:

    I love the red with the animal print belt! So chic. The food photos look so focused and clear: what kind of camera do you use?

  2. Melanie Says:

    I really, really like your outfit. You’re making a black leather skirt very chic and wearable. Nice!

    Melanie@UnravelledThreads
    Follow @UnraveldTreads on Twitter!

  3. patty Says:

    first off, thanks for the shout-out! you’re way too kind :D
    second, oversharing is what the internet’s all about. embrace it :)
    third, I LOVE THE RED and the leather and the animal print. you are working it so damn well :)

    looks like a lovely meal! i’m glad you guys enjoyed!

  4. lavietoni Says:

    I was not too excited about this outfit but you all made me feel better about it! Ana, I use a Nikon D40 with the kit lens it came with. Having a DSLR was a life-changer for me!

  5. Melissa Says:

    Thanks so much for linking me! SO sweet of you.

    You look amazing in this outfit. I’m oddly jealous that you are wearing a leather skirt because my thighs and butt just look horrible in leather skirts. *sigh* haha.

    It was great reading more about you! I will try to answer those questions asap :)

    Melissa


Leave a Reply

