30 for 30: Day 10 and the discovery of mosaics

November 23, 2010

Thanks a lot, Florida. I was terrified of doing 30 for 30 because I thought I would be freezing through the challenge, desperate to add more layers than were allowed. Instead, it is once again in the 80s today and I’m stuck choosing from an assortment of clothes that includes two jackets, two bulky sweaters, three cardigans, a heavy wool (?) dress…you get the picture. My shirt selection, especially for this kind of weather? Let’s just say I had to pull my tank top, which I only expected to wear for layering purposes, out of the laundry basket today. Then I turned to Victoria’s Secret for help.

VS collage

Yes, Victoria’s Secret. Fashionistas may not look to VS catalogs for inspiration, but today I knew I was stuck with a super simple outfit. I refused to add a jacket or scarf for fashion’s sake…it was just too hot. So I went with the VS formula: Skinny jeans, basic (but tight) top, big/wavy hair, faux-sun-kissed face, done.

30 for 30: Day 10/ VS

I did wear a statement necklace, earrings, and bracelets, but they’re not super obvious in these pictures. My mane is in the way.

30 for 30: Day 10/ VS

I am really hoping we get some cooler weather soon. Not that I hate the warmth. But if I’d have known November would be so much warmer than last year’s (because I’m sure I was wearing sweaters by this time in 2009), I would have chosen my 30 accordingly, darn it. You hear me Florida? Don’t you want my 30 for 30 to go well?

30 for 30: Day 10/ VS

To be honest, I spent the morning exploring the details of my student loan situation and looking at personal finance blogs, all of which shifted my attention away from clothes somewhat. I am ready to tackle some other important areas of my life. Finance, fitness (I also looked at plans for easing into a running program this morning), health, job hunting, getting organized, writing, learning how to drive, family, travel, and more.

But first: Getting the house in order and cooking the dishes I’m bringing to my family’s house for Thanksgiving. Based in part on ingredients I already had in the house, I decided on pumpkin and hazelnut muffins, another lemon buttermilk pound cake, vegetarian stuffing, minestrone soup, and a “spinach cheese puff.” Better get started.

Hey, I’m 1/3 of the way through 30 for 30!

mosaic2

My goals for the next 2/3: Spice it up. Don’t play it so safe–but never, ever repeat Day 3. Figure out how to work with the 30 items I have, layering and/or accessorizing even for warm weather. Continue to grow taller and taller as I have apparently done in the past few weeks.

11 Responses to “30 for 30: Day 10 and the discovery of mosaics”


  1. Mint.com isn’t a blog but it is a finance site that I’ve become rather addicted to. It links all of your accounts and tracks all of your spending. I don’t know what I would do without it!

    Love today’s outfit! The necklace really makes it! I’ll trade you weather. it was 15 degrees this morning here.

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Oh my gosh, I just discovered Mint.com this morning! I was about to sign up when I got nervous about linking my bank info to it…but I will look more into it. I definitely need to find a way to “see” my money/spending/budget better. It’s a little awkward for me as I basically live on various forms of financial aid, but I think it’s time to confront my finances since I’ll be graduating soon. I just wish I had an idea of what kind of job (and income…) I’ll have after grad school!

  3. Terri Says:

    I’m impressed that you have ten so distinct looks! Are you still going with the challenge?

    Best of luck if you are.

  4. amanda Says:

    the growing taller bit at the end made me seriously LOL – awesome!

    i also second mint.com – i log in about once every 2-3 weeks, and they always send email notices immediately after i sign on, for things that i see right after logging in, which is kind of annoying – but it’s safe and secure and i’m pretty happy with it.

    happy thanksgiving – lemon buttermilk pound cake sounds soooooo yummy!

  5. Ana Says:

    Just found your blog on Kendi`s list of remixers. I love it, ergo, I follow it. xoxo

  6. Mallory Says:

    Aw, #3 is pretty cute! It’s a little quirkier, but that’s what’s nice about it.

  7. Cara-Mia Says:

    Haha that last line just cracked me up! Anyway, today’s outfit is simple but nice.
    It’s been rather warm here during the day for the most part, but today was actually cold! Hopefully you guys will get some cool weather coming your way, too.

  8. patty Says:

    GIRL YOU LOOK GREAT 1/3 in :D
    and i love simple outfits. sometimes i feel like i’ve remixed myself to craziness with all the add ons. simple outfits like this? ir eally like it <3

  9. Katey Says:

    #8 is a really splendid outfit!

  10. lavietoni Says:

    Thank you all for your kind words! Katey–#8 is my favorite too :) Though I did cheat on that one a bit..


  11. […] I’m pretty my counting has been off by a day and I was even further beyond than I thought. Even though it seems to be taking forever, I’m only now on day 20 of 30 for 30. I feel so far behind most others, but when it comes down to it, it’s only about a week. And I’m 2/3 done! Anyway, to keep myself motivated, here’s a collage of days 11-20 with some “winterized” editing courtesy of Piknik. I will probably regret the winterizing, but hey, gotta spice things up. (See the first ten days here.) […]


Leave a Reply

