30 for 30: Day 9 and some classics

November 22, 2010

30 for 30: Day 9 and a bun

Wearing my hair in a low bun today made me want to wear big earrings. Looking at these pictures, I don’t think they “go” very well, I should have just stuck with the gold hoops I was considering. Oh well. I like the rest of the outfit. I can always count on feeling good in this shirt because I think the cut is flattering. I bought the skinny cords (before 30 for 30) in part because Tania of What Would a Nerd Wear made me realize they could look as good as skinny jeans. The cords I had prior to these were similar, gray, but they were baggy in the thighs and I always felt dorky in them. I’d developed somewhat of a cord phobia as a result.

30 for 30: Day 9 and a bun

I have been “playing hooky” for days. Not skipping out of anything really, but just not doing school work. I think I needed a break, especially after the recent conference that I had been so stressed about. I feel a little guilty for not being more productive, but I’ve also been enjoying myself. Today, for instance, I finished a Scottish murder mystery I’d begun in August and then forgotten about when school started.

30 for 30: Day 9 and a bun

Here are some more photographs from the slide shows of my mom and uncle when they were kids. There are so many I adore. I think these photos need new captions (besides the original ones that had educational purposes). These could be film stills from much juicier projects. And the outfits. It’s love.

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

"Kerry and Kevin" aka my mom and uncle

7 Responses to “30 for 30: Day 9 and some classics”

  1. Tanvi Says:

    Wow. These did seem out of movie stills or some story telling project!!!

    Love your earring and the cords!!!

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Seriously, I’m tempted to create a new storyline around the photos. And thanks, glad someone likes the earrings :)

  3. Emily Says:

    Isn’t it funny how people see different things? The earrings were my favorite part of the whole outfit.

  4. patty Says:

    your earrings are just toooo pretty. i love that you added some color to your outfit with the printed top and the earrings. so nice!

  5. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! As you can see, I’m a wimp and get self-conscious about things that don’t obviously “match.” Like, I feel proud of myself when I wear black and brown, or break other rules from my youth, like tights with open-toed shoes. Baby steps.

  6. Melissa Says:

    Your outfits so far in the challenge have been lovely! It’s too bad the weather isn’t cooperating with your 30 pieces you chose! (I had the same problem during my 30 for 30 in July when we had a 30 day heat spell and my coats and sweaters went unused).

    I love these photos of your mom and uncle. What were they for? Just family pics? It looks like they were in a movie. I’m intrigued.

    Melissa

  7. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! The photos were used in educational slide shows that my grandfather wrote, usually about historic places in the south.


Leave a Reply

