30 for 30: Day 8 and a swap

November 21, 2010

Patterned skirt: 30 for 30

How can I phrase this? I swapped another item from my original 30. If you’ll recall (and I’m just sure you do), the only skirts I initially included were these:

30 for 30 picks

Almost identical, right? Well the issue was that I had recently cleaned out my closet, purging almost 50 items from my wardrobe, including nearly all my skirts. Apparently I no longer like the type of skirt I had gotten used to buying, mostly bohemian-style, long, loose, and worn low. But I wanted to incorporate skirts into my 30 for 30. I’ve only worn the pleather-y one so far. So, um, I’m swapping the other one with this patterned skirt. Which, er, I bought. At a consignment store. For $3.50. Yesterday.

Gah. I cheated. No beating around the bush. But I’m giving myself a pass (isn’t that nice?) because I’m getting rid of so many other clothes (they’re still in my house waiting to be gotten rid of), because I’m still sticking to 30 items, because this skirt was second-hand, and because it was $3.50 on a half-off rack out in front of the store.

Bad Toni. Bad. Don’t I look sorry?

Patterned skirt: 30 for 30

This is what I wore to go to the movies with some classmates today. [Earrings and belt also from the consignment store. I love these finds! Purse: Thrifted, previously.]

I quite like today’s outfit. I thought about wearing a colorful cardigan but the weather is still in the high 70s and, besides, I ripped it in the midst of tucking and untucking. Ugh. Luckily, just yesterday I saw a clothing repair shop so I may bring it there, along with my favorite blue vintage dress that desperately needs some TLC.

4 Responses to “30 for 30: Day 8 and a swap”

  1. Cara-Mia Says:

    Lovely! I’ve already swapped out one unworn item… am thinking I might swap one more!

    & for $3.50, I think you can let this one slide. :)

  2. lavietoni Says:

    I really don’t think swapping something for an unworn item is a problem at all. The challenge, for me, wasn’t about sticking to an original plan, it’s about being creative with 30 pieces (and, you know, not shopping lol).

  3. Emily Says:

    Man, my braid never looks that good. Braid envy.

  4. patty Says:

    pretty skirt is pretty and i loev that you mixed it up with red shoes!!! you look fantastic girl :)


Leave a Reply

