30 for 30: Day 7

November 20, 2010

I’m only on Day 7! Crazy. Well, what can I say? For better or for worse, I never got out of my pajamas yesterday.

Patterned dress

Admittedly, I think this dress could use some accessorizing. But it was 80 degrees today, and I figure, start simple, and each time I wear it again in the challenge I can add more elements.

Patterned dress

I do love this dress. I got it on sale at Banana Republic, one of the two times I can remember ever shopping there. The first time was with a gift card. Patrick and I decided the dress is black and white, but every time I wear it, out of the corner of my eye, I see navy blue.

Next time I’ll add tights, a belt, and/or some layers.

***

I love the blog Miss B Gets Dressed and was inspired by her “25 by 25”–a set of goals she wants to accomplish before her 25th birthday in December. Not only do I relate to many of her goals, but since my 25th birthday is also in December, they…extra, extra resonated with me.

As I write this, I am recalling an article from Seventeen Magazine I tore out and kept in a photo album for years when I was a kid: “Seventeen Things to do Before You’re Seventeen.” Okay, let me back up and say that Seventeen was pretty awesome when I was, like, 12. From what I can tell, it was a completely different publication then than it is today (and of course had a long history before the 1990s). I remember some really amazing writing, and yes, I trust my preteen judgment. Anyway, this list was magical to me. The only items I know for sure that it included were:

1) watch the sun rise, and
2) surprise your friends by picking them up first thing in the morning (“or have your big sister drive”) and go out to breakfast in your pajamas. I loved this. This was what it meant to be a teenager.

Then again, I was the girl who sketched out how I planned to decorate my first locker, and posed for Polaroid pictures in which I pretended to talk on a cordless phone while staring dreamily into a picture frame supposedly depicting my hunky boyfriend…and painted my nails all at once.

I am a sucker for bucket-lists and resolutions and the like. But I turn 25 in only a few weeks; I don’t have time to accomplish 25 goals, and, as usual, it falls during finals week in school. I was going to aim for 10, but I just kept recreating to-do lists that already exist, so I guess there’s no point this time. Sigh. On the other hand, when I called my mom today to talk to her about the Kerry and Kevin series, she ended up giving me a pep talk about following my dreams and dreaming big. So I have a lot of good thoughts swirling around in my head. This whole turning 25 deal (coming up soon enough) has really got me asking myself Big Questions about what I want from Life. And it’s exciting.

5 Responses to “30 for 30: Day 7”

  1. Linda W Says:

    What a great dress! It looks great on it’s own, but it will be fun to see it styled in different ways for the challenge!
    The Auspicious Life

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! Yes, I should have been more adventurous this time around, oh well, it’s day will come :)

  3. patty Says:

    LoL i feel you on not getting out of pajamas. this remix has taught me though, BETTER GET OUT OF THEM. haha. i love this dress though. it’s got a really unique pattern ;)


  4. Thanks so much for the mention!! :-) You should join in and make a little 25 by 25 list of your own!!

    What day is your B-day?


  5. […] see? You see? That shirt is really a dress. Wow. Crazy. Who knew I had it in me? I’m not sure I’d ever do that again for the fun […]


Leave a Reply

