My 30 for 30 Picks*

November 7, 2010

hello

30 for 30 picks

30 for 30 picks

30 for 30 picks

30 for 30 picks

30 for 30 picks

Read on to see entire list:

Descriptions are left to right.

Shirts:

30 for 30 picks

1. Zebra-print tunic: New York & Co.
2. Short-sleeved floral shirt: American Rag via Macy’s
3. Striped three-quarter sleeved shirt: Gap

30 for 30 picks

4. Off-the-shoulder gray sweatshirt: Forever21
5. White tank top: Converse One Star via Target
6. Blue tank top: Gap

Cardigans/shrug (?):

30 for 30 picks

7. Brown cardigan: New York & Co.
8. Yellow cardigan: Merona via Target
9. Red cardigan: Cielo Classic (I think; tag is hard to read) – gift
10. Black ruffled shrug: Forever21

(Closer view of cardigans):

30 for 30 picks

Heavy sweaters:

30 for 30 picks

11 and 12. Both Old Navy

Blazer/jacket:

30 for 30 picks

13. Black blazer: Sisley – thrifted
14. Jacket: Joujou via Macy’s

Skirts:

30 for 30 picks

15. Brown pleather (?) skirt – Forever21
16. Black skirt – New York & Co.

Pants/jeans:

30 for 30 picks

17. Gray skinny cords – Forever21
18. Boyfriend jeans (I’ll call them that, anyway) – Converse One Star via Target

30 for 30 picks

19. Skinny bluejeans – Forever21
20. Flared bluejeans – Refuge, most likely via Charlotte Russe

Dresses:

30 for 30 picks

21. Brown tunic – Forever21
22. Floral dress – Forever21

30 for 30 picks

23. Dotted dress – Banana Republic
24. Striped dress – Vintage via Etsy

(Closer view of print on dresses):

30 for 30 picks

Shoes:

(Multiple views of flipflops and flats):

30 for 30 picks

25. Silver flipflops – Express
26. Red flats – Mossimo via Target
27. Black flats – Anne Klein Sport, I believe via Macy’s

30 for 30 picks

(Multiple views of boots and wedges):

30 for 30 picks

28. Tan wedges (yes, in not so pretty condition) – Target
29. Black boots with stacked heel – Franco Sarto via Shoes.com

30 for 30 picks

30. Adorable furry dog boot – Herman, via a former co-worker**

Some quick thoughts and observations:

  • I probably didn’t include enough shirts, but I do want to encourage myself to wear more dresses. I love dresses, I buy them, and I don’t wear them much.
  • I recently got rid of most of my skirts because I didn’t like the way they fit. I’ll build up my skirt collection again over time (but not during the challenge, of course).
  • I don’t own silky, pretty “blouses.”
  • I hope I have warm enough options.
  • I probably didn’t need that many pants, especially those flared jeans, but they are my ultimate comfort clothes and I was terrified to part with them.
  • I wish I had a pair of comfortable, close-toed pumps.
  • This was a bit time consuming but I really think getting dressed will be a fast process now that I’m choosing from this selection.
  • I haven’t put a lot of thought into outfit planning. Hopefully I can make this work!
  • I am embarrassed by all the “For Dummies” books showing in these pictures.

* My caveat: I’m presenting at, and working at, an academic conference for several days this week. Besides that, I have no other need to dress professionally in the near future. I will probably exclude a few of those days from my 30 for 30, and pick back up after, still doing the challenge for a full 30 days. It just doesn’t make sense for me to try to “remix” the clothing I’ll be wearing at the conference, which would be out of place at school or in my free time, nor do I want to risk going too casual at the conference just so I can wear the clothes again throughout the month. Some people might be able to accommodate conference-wear into other outfits (like the Academichics) but I just don’t have the items to do it, at least not 100% without cheating.

** My confession: Although my dog Herman would make adorable footwear, he is not actually a boot. However, I did order a pair of boots before deciding to do the 30 for 30 challenge, and they have not yet arrived. I’m including them though, because I was already planning to wear them (tan, flat-ish, riding boots) all fall and winter. I won’t be including the other clothing items I ordered last week that haven’t arrived yet. Well, unless I cave and decide to swap a piece out with something I haven’t worn from the 30. Like the black jeans that are coming. Hmm…

10 Responses to “My 30 for 30 Picks*”

  1. kathy Says:

    you are sooo brave! when i saw your choices that are mostly prints i was impressed, prints are hard for me to mix but you have inspired me to branch out and lived it up, i’m mostly a solid hue girl, but love your choices! great luck to you in the challange! (btw i did kinda take a peek at your for dummies books jajajaja but hey, i think they make great books for first timmers.

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Lol, oh no, I didn’t realize I was being brave with those prints but now that you mention it, I’m scared! Hopefully with all my solid sweaters and jackets it won’t be too hard to remix the prints :/

    But thanks for your comment! I can’t wait to see how this process goes…

  3. Jenn Says:

    Great picks! can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  4. Liz Says:

    Those prints look fun! And the shoes are gorgeous, best of luck!

  5. Lisa Says:

    hello fellow 30 for 30 remixer! good luck, i look forward to following your mixes! :)

    your dog is sooo adorable!


  6. I love the rosette vest and the black and white patterned dresses! I’m jealous of your shoe choices! Flip flops! Sandals! I’m waiting for a pair of snow boots to arrive! Soak up some sun for those of us who aren’t as lucky!

    Can’t wait to see you outfits!


  7. […] La Vie Toni HomeAbout MeAround My HouseI Love Film « My 30 for 30 Picks* […]

  8. lavietoni Says:

    Thank you everyone! Good luck to all participating. I can’t wait to see what you do with your choices too :)

  9. Emily Says:

    Is that puppy part of your set of choices? I think I’d like to have him around every day! He’s the cutest thing.

    Excited to see how you mix together all these pieces. I’m a big fan of several of them, especially the floral dress you wore today. Yay, remixing!


  10. […] can I phrase this? I swapped another item from my original 30. If you’ll recall (and I’m just sure you do), the only skirts I included were […]


Leave a Reply

