30 for 30

November 1, 2010

Did I remember to take an outfit photo on Friday, when I was flying to DC in a leopard print dress, knee-high boots, and freshly blow-dried hair? Of course not. Instead, I remember on days when I’m running out the door to school in skinny pants, a comfortable shirt, flip flops, and a sloppy/unwashed ponytail. I had posted a picture but frankly it was just annoying me. I’m not a daily photo kind of person. I’ll post one when I remember, and when it’s an inspired ensemble.

I’m thinking of participating in this 30 for 30 Fall Challenge, starting next Monday, November 8th via Kendi Everyday. It involves (re)mixing up to 30, and only 30–including shoes, clothing items into different outfits over about a month period. And no shopping.

I’m pretty on board with this idea since it reflects what I’ve been trying to do recently: Wear what’s in my closet (or get rid of it). I’ve been trying to avoid shopping for clothes this semester, beyond making a few investments I thought were reasonable.

I had been hoping to do a little thrift-store shopping to get my creative juices flowing. Well, maybe I’ll do my last bit of shopping before the 30 for 30 Fall Challenge begins in a week. Lord knows there’s plenty of stuff in my closet that has not seen the light of day in ages. And this will give me the opportunity to focus on accessorizing, something I often don’t give much thought to.

In other news, I just booked my hotel and plane tickets to visit NYC in December for my 25th birthday! Well, it won’t fall right on my birthday since I’ll be grading students’ final papers then, but close enough. I am so excited. I’ve done very little traveling in recent years, so it’s hard to believe how much I have traveled, and will travel, in the second half of 2010.

  • Two months in Maryland for an internship.
  • Ten days touring Scotland.
  • The Rally to Restore Sanity in Washington, DC.
  • An academic conference in Denver.
  • A birthday celebration in New York (at Christmastime!).
  • I even went to Key West for the first time this year.

Experiences over shopping. That’s my goal. Now if only my new boots would arrive, the ones I think will be perfect for trekking around the Big Apple..

3 Responses to “30 for 30”


  1. […] some final (cheap) basics so that I actually stand a chance in my effort to avoid shopping for a month. I hope this doesn’t completely defeat the purpose. With holidays coming up–and Black […]

  2. Jenn Says:

    Love the 30 for 30 remix idea! Those boots are great…I recently bought a pair of riding boots AND booked tix to NYC in Dec for my birthday! You gotta check out Buffalo Exchange when you’re there. It’s one of my fav thrift stores. I’ve only been to the one in San Fran, but I’m sure the NYC location will be even better!

  3. lavietoni Says:

    I love those coincidences! I hope you post some packing tips for visiting New York in the winter :) Thanks for the tip on Buffalo Exchange (oh, and on Rent the Runway…amazing…I am so trying that).


Leave a Reply

