Keepin’ It Simple, Keepin’ It Real

October 26, 2010

Today it was just over 90 degrees. So much for an amazing October, Florida! Okay, I’m only half-heartedly complaining. Sure I’d love for it to be slightly cooler, just enough that I don’t feeling my lotion dripping down my body, intermingled with sweat, by noon. Or maybe even cool enough that I could justify wearing a sweater. But don’t get cold on me now.

I wore:

Herm

Wait. That’s not me. Get out of the way, Herman! That’s just like him, always wanting to be in the center of things.

Simple

That’s better.

Simple

Short-sleeved lace shirt; see-through, worn over a tank top – Second-hand from a consignment shop
Denim capris (is “capris” the right word here?) – Express
Tan wedges; never caught at a good angle in pictures – Target
Cameo necklace – Gift from my sister, Forever 21
Black and tan bag, which I use on a daily basis for school – Target

I’m sitting down to do my Teach for America letter of intent and plan to submit my application tonight. So much else to do on top of that, by tomorrow. Read a book. Write a response. Read four chapters out of another book.

Figure out the upcoming weekend in DC, logistically. Figure out the upcoming conference in Denver, both logistically and in terms of my presentation. Develop interview questions and submit to IRB. Get back to my former internship organization about starting some research with them. Sign up for driving lessons. Start final semester papers and projects. Prepare for fellowship assessment. Catch up on attendance records. Go to the doctor about the cough I’ve had since August. Plan (and invite students to) a professional development “brown bag” meeting. Grade papers. Read more books. Write more responses. Get a business suit. Start applying for jobs. Am I really going to New York in December?

One step at a time.

Simple

Herm

2 Responses to “Keepin’ It Simple, Keepin’ It Real”

  1. Ashley Heilman Says:

    I think the word you are looking for is crops :)

  2. lavietoni Says:

    CROPS! Wow, I don’t think I’ve said that word since high school, and yet it used to be a normal part of life. Crops.


Leave a Reply

