Pack It Up

June 9, 2010

I leave for my two-month internship in DC a week from today. A few days after I return in August, I go to Scotland for ten days. Hence, my current obsession: Packing. What to pack and how to pack, to be more specific. In the past week or so, I’ve learned everything I ever needed to know about luggage and bags (wheeled? backpack? upright? duffel? hybrid? anti-theft?), walking shoes, wrinkle-free clothes, average temperatures, airline baggage limits, and ingenious travel contraptions. I’ve read review after review, watched product videos (how awesome), become enthralled with one thing before coming across an even better one. I’ve scoured Etsy for raincoats, passport cases, pashmina shawls. I’ve discovered Scotland street style blogs, read about past interns’ experiences in Washington, spent way too much time looking at message boards on Rick Steves’ website, posted pictures of stuff on my Tumblr. It’s intense. It’s mostly unnecessary. But it’s fun. Five words: Eagle Creek Switchback Max 22. It does everything.

Here are some random pictures that didn’t make it into my Project 365 set.

Vegging out after a long day:
Vegging out after crazy day

Vegging out after crazy day

Vegging out after crazy day

Free concert at the downtown plaza:

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Free Fridays

Typical walk with Herman:

Thomas Center

Thomas Center

Thomas Center

Thomas Center

Thomas Center

A breakfast Patrick made me one morning. I was surprised to come into the dining room and see such a cute setup. He knows me well:

Patrick made breakfast

On my way to see Splice:

Going to movies

Stumbled up on these on another walk:

Walking

New shampoo, conditioner, and witch hazel I looove. The Pure Life Soap Co. brand is local, and its products are 100% paraben free, cruelty free, alcohol free, petroleum free, and free of artificial dyes and perfumes.

New

My bed, looking both messy and inviting:

Messy bed (Actually, I’m starting to think about getting new bedding–our duvet isn’t in great shape, our sheets don’t match, our pillows are SHIT, and Patrick’s not a huge fan of down comforters. But it’s not exactly priority number one cause I’m broke.)

And a sign that made me laugh at a Greek store:

Oh, fraternities.

Leave a Reply

