Easy as Pie

June 1, 2010

Tonight I had a little pie with my whipped cream:

June 1 - Dessert

June 1 - Dessert

June 1 - Dessert

June 1 - Dessert

Even though I’ve increasingly been trying to cook more when possible, buy local & organic, stick to whole foods, etc. for a year or two now for health and environmental reasons, I think I only recently hit that die hard convert stage: the stage where people become fanatical about how much more delicious this kind of eating is.

I mean I’ve always kind of “gotten” that in theory, but it was just the other day that I thought to myself, “This is the best corn on the cob I’d ever had in my life,” before recalling a sign I’d seen at the farmers’ market announcing that this corn had indeed been picked the very same morning. A ha.

I’ve already praised the rosemary bread I’ve been getting lately, supplied by a local bakery and made of nothing more than a few basic (household-style) ingredients, in multiple blog posts.

The whipped cream I made tonight–made of three simple ingredients–blew any imitation I’d ever had out of the water. [As noted here, “Cool Whip, a product of Kraft Foods, is made of water, corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), high fructose corn syrup, sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, and beta carotene (for color). Whipped cream is made of cream and sugar (and often, vanilla extract)”.]

Suddenly, I realize there is no turning back. Don’t get me wrong, no way in hell I’m going to start cooking everything from scratch (I certainly didn’t make my own pie crust tonight), but I will continue to progress on this path as best I can.

I feel almost sad, embarrassed even, to be so excited about eating a dessert that’s not made out of a laundry list of weird-sounding stuff. I also realize that the rise of processed convenience foods may have been a positive development in women’s liberation, but I’m not going to get into that right now. There’s been enough written about “femivores” (not my word choice) lately. For now, I just want another slice of pie. I need to chew all this over.

Leave a Reply

