Avoidance

May 30, 2010

For the last few days, I’ve woken up between 6:30 and 8:00 and thought to myself, “I’m going to get up and use my new exercise DVDs or go on a long walk. Then I’m going to finally unpack, do laundry, and read for my independent study.” (But perhaps not in those exact words.)

Then I go back to sleep. Or turn on the tv. Or get online. When Patrick wakes up and makes coffee later in the morning, I slowly start moving, maybe we run a few errands, and then I figure out a way to avoid all the things I planned to do earlier.

I’m exaggerating. I’ve been pretty damn productive during the past week or two, planning for my internship and taking care of a TON of stuff on my to-do list (passport, housing, doctors’ appointments, etc.). That being said, I have yet to open the boxes my yoga and Bollywood dance videos arrived in and we won’t talk about how many books I haven’t cracked. And yet:

Cupcakes from scratch

Cupcakes! I can’t let the new (to us) KitchenAid mixer just stand there, now can I?

Making cupcakes

Baking cupcakes

Baking cupcakes

Cupcakes from scratch

Cupcakes from scratch
[Long side note: I didn’t actually use the Organic and Chic cookbook, I just love the cover. I’ve written about it before, but the pictures in this book are my dream cakes. Of course, it could partially be the fact that the art direction and styling was done by a former Domino style editor–as I just learned. I am such a sucker for that aesthetic (whatever that is).]

Anyway.

After baking the cupcakes, I was sick of all things sweet, but the kitchen was a wreck and I was too hungry to bother with cleaning pots and pans or cooking something that took a while. So I pulled down the wok (the only clean thing in the kitchen) and made a really yummy, simple meal with the tomatoes, basil, and spinach I got at the farmers’ market the other day. And my beloved rosemary bread, the stuff of gods, in my opinion. Gonna try to make my own eventually.

Basil

Tomatoes, basil, and spinach

Tomatoes and toast

Tomatoes and toast

This is the third afternoon in a row that we’ve had a little storm, and I couldn’t be happier. I suppose I’ll go tackle the kitchen and take care of other stuff ’round the house so that tomorrow I can read in peace.

Leave a Reply

