Blog Recap Part II: April 09

March 3, 2010

Continuing with my recap of the past year of blogging here, here’s a flashback to April:

I went to a wedding,

April 09

April 09

presented at my first two academic conferences,

April 09

walked around Ybor City (which I miss, along with St. Pete and downtown Tampa),

April 09

April 09

and I cleaned the apartment, decorated the balcony a little bit, and turned to Amelie for bedroom inspiration.

April 09

April 09

April 09

April 09

I ate and cooked a lot: A vegan Easter feast, fondue, mashed potatoes with kale, spaghetti with salad, and gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches.

April 09

April 09

April 09

April 09

Perhaps most importantly, I was both stressed out and optimistic. I officially decided to transfer to the University of Florida and even fantasized about renting a pink house in Gainesville! I made a list of summer plans. How many of these did I accomplish? Well, I didn’t use my exercise DVDs, do much swimming, or take a great vacation, but I did finally sign up for a photography class, and as we will see in later recaps, found a house, got glasses, and did some amazing thrifting.

It’s a strange thing to look back at a years’ worth of blogging. It encompasses my life: The mundane things. The stress. The hopes and dreams. The real accomplishments. The dog getting fatter.

April 09

Of course in some ways, a blog like this only reflects the very surface of one’s life…but it’s also maybe one of the best ways to capture so much that would otherwise be forgotten or overlooked.


Five hundrend twenty five thousand
six hundred minutes
Five hundrend twenty five thousand
moments so dear
Five hundrend twenty five thousand
six hundred minutes
How do you measure, measure a year

In daylight, in sunsets, in midnights,
in cups of coffee, In inches, in miles
in laughter in strife,

In five hundred twenty five thousand
six hundred minutes
How do you measure a year in the life

Leave a Reply

