Rainy Day Reminiscing: Recap Part I – Feb & March ’09

March 2, 2010

It’s a gloomy, gray morning and despite going to bed early, before 11:00 each night for the past week, I’ve felt fatigued for about two days now. This kind of exhaustion causes a dull throbbing behind my eyes that doesn’t go away until I recuperate, and it looks like I’ll have to wait until next week for my remedy: Spring break.

An optimistic point to note is that I’m probably partially tired because I’ve been, at least mentally, productive and inspired in recent days. I’m reading this book on food writing, trying to think of ways to incorporate some fun and creativity into my academic work, my ideas for my Master’s project are coming together, and I’ve submitted some applications for various summer jobs and paid internships, some quite competitive and out-of-state.

It came to me this morning that I’ve had this blog for about a year now. I transferred some posts from my former blog to this one for the months of December 08-February 09, but it was March that I really started anew. This is not particularly exciting news, but enough so that I feel like reminiscing a little. I’m also going through my old photos from last spring break, just daydreaming about being in vacation mode again. What I’m most looking forward to next week is going to St. Augustine with Patrick and his two best friends, tourist-style. Somehow the prospect of staying in a hotel for one night makes it ten times more exciting than just visiting for the day as we normally do, so I’m looking forward to that immensely. (What I’d give to be there now.)

Hmm, so how about a recap of the past year o’ blogging, shall we? Shoot, let’s be crazy start way back in February when Patrick and I were still living in our cozy lil Tampa apartment. In fact, I think I’ll stick to February and March and we’ll call this Part I of my recap. There is much recapping to be done. There will be lots of pictures from March because it was great and I’m pining for it.

Dining Room

Apt

Apt

In March, Herman was still a puppy, I was at the University of South Florida, and we lived by a pond with alligators. What I miss most about that apartment is the nature. Our two balconies backed up to beautiful woods and I loved the pond.

BW Film

Brother Micah

BW Film

See? Pretty. (Remember when my photos were a different size? Those were the days):

March09

March09

March09

March09

As I already said, March was a fantastic month with trips to St. Augustine, South Florida (including Vizcaya and a Miami boat tour), and my parents’ house. I wore many dresses.

80

64

St. Augustine

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

Spring

Vizcaya

Vizcaya

Vizcaya

Vizcaya

Vizcaya

Home

Home

Mitchell

I’ll conclude with a rainy March morning similar to this one, although the sun has come out since I began this post. Strangely enough, this makes me sad.

March09

March09

March09

It was a good time to be alive. Next up: April.

PS: Dog on butt.

March09

Leave a Reply

