Various Matters

February 18, 2010

Beans and rice

Beans and rice

My second round of dried beans, this time I made pinto, and ate them with basmati rice. I have to say, I’m still trying to figure out how to flavor this kind of food (ie healthy) in, well, healthy ways. I need to get better with spices, herbs, peppers, and making sauces. When I try cooking something new, the results are often disappointing..or decent, but clearly missing something. I froze the rest of the pintos so I’ll make other stuff with them soon. Oh, I also have a new potted kale plant on my front porch.

Can't pose

Can't pose

I liked my outfit today, but alas, the picture-taking just wasn’t happening. I need to go back to my old self-timer ways because I’m afraid it just doesn’t work out when Patrick takes my photo. It’s not completely his fault (but, you know, kind of); I’m also really bad at posing for other people. Isn’t that scarf pretty though? I got my mom the same one. I’m pretty sure she was wearing it today too.

Not much is new, at least, other than the usual. I’ve been a little under the weather this week. Still trying to figure out my life plan, or at least my graduate school plan. Patrick and I are cleaning house and finally staying in town for the next few weekends. I’m really pumped to step up my organization around the house, from my school supplies to the laundry room to my closet. I also am trying to focus on buying any basic clothing pieces that I’ve needed for some time. I have a bad habit of buying lots of similar shirts, and not much else in the way of shoes, jewelry, cold-weather clothing, etc. So yeah, going shopping this weekend, but not for any shirts! Hopefully I can go to an IKEA again sometime in the near future. Maybe spring break in Ft. Lauderdale. It’s just impractical that Patrick and I share a tiny closet. I plan on getting a free-standing wardrobe to handle my overflow. So I guess the overall theme here is simplifying my life. Just taking care of the little stuff that bogs me down on a daily basis.

Anyway, here’s my blog-related news: I’ve started a Tumblr. Do I need another place to waste time or post stuff online? Not really. But I liiiike it. I like the simplicity, I like posting other stuff I like. I still feel unsure of the whole posting-stuff-that’s-not-my-work, so I’m trying to avoid pissing anyone off. And linking back to the sources, or whatever. Here it is: Six Hours Behind.

Check it out. Go on. I’ll be here sorting my laundry.

Leave a Reply

