A Walk to Remember

February 9, 2010

I had a lovely time visiting home this weekend. Now that I’m in Gainesville–the closest I’ve lived to my hometown since leaving for college six years ago–somehow “the Island” is on my mind more than usual. Knowing that I’m only a little over an hour away makes it feel more real to me. It’s nice. I keep thinking that my friends and I will be turning 25 soon (this year, next year) and I hope people don’t start getting jobs that take them far away, those who haven’t already left, anyway. I expect it will happen eventually. But maybe I’m wrong. Or maybe it will take another 5 years or so, since I still feel like plenty of us are far from “grownups.”

My walk this morning

My walk this morning

My walk this morning

Pictures from a cold morning walk with Herman yesterday, in my parents’ neighborhood.

The past 24 hours have been incredibly busy, draining, and productive. I feel proud of myself but can’t let myself off the hook yet, either. It’s time for me to decide my fate: Thesis or non-thesis, doing what, with whom? I do not know. I also need to keep applying for summer jobs. Got a nice email today from a non-profit in Gville that works with girls to encourage their empowerment, after I sent an unsolicited resume and cover letter expressing interest in working with their summer camp. They aren’t hiring yet but will be considering me when it’s closer to that time, so that’s one potential option. Unfortunately I think they are interested in (but not limited to) hiring students who qualify for Federal Work Study, which as far as I know, does not include me. We’ll see.

PS – Go see me at CasaSugar!

CasaSugar

CasaSugar

4 Responses to “A Walk to Remember”

  1. Jeff Balogh Says:

    How will I know when I’m a grownup?

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Too late. You already are.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I heard about your blog on CasaSugar and had to check it out. It’s nice to see someone in northern Florida being cool & creative on a budget (Attention, shelter magazines, there is more to Florida than just Miami & Palm Beach!)

  4. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! I’m always happy when I find other bloggers in Florida, or really anywhere outside the usual big cities too.


Leave a Reply

