The Little Princess

February 4, 2010

I was going to post a bunch of Youtube clips from the 1939 version of The Little Princess with Shirley Temple, which I just watched online via Netflix. It was one of my favorites as a kid. But then that got me thinking about the 1995 adaptation, A Little Princess, which I also loved, and that reminded me of 1993’s The Secret Garden. All were based on books by Frances Hodgson Burnett – something I didn’t know until I was much older. But clearly I was obsessed with rich little British girls. Anyway, I came across this video someone made on Youtube called “Mary’s Magic,” which is described as an ambient track “composed entirely of small sounds recorded from The Secret Garden.” And, frankly, it is magical. So it’s all I’m posting. This is the stuff my childhood dreams were made of. And, okay, they still are. I’ll probably end up watching the whole film tonight.

(This is how I entertain myself when Patrick goes out of town…well that and I gorge myself on junk food, like the eight-pack of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups I’ve devoured. Sick.)

One Response to “The Little Princess”

  1. Priscilla Says:

    I think the same guy did a similar job to the cartoon version of “Alice in Wonderland.” It’s also pretty boss. :)


Leave a Reply

