Patrick’s Family Visits: Part III

December 13, 2009

Okay, so this is really exciting to me. Patrick’s grandparents’ friends recently bought this dining table and chairs with the expectation that they were moving to South Florida from Switzerland, but then the move fell through. So his grandparents bought the table for us for relatively cheap, and his parents brought it this weekend. I’d only seen a small, fuzzy picture that showed part of it so I wasn’t sure what to expect. But it’s awesome! I can’t believe we went from what was essentially a folding card table, to this, for free:

New dining table!

New Dining Table

I could be wrong, and maybe someone can correct me, but it resembles these from Scan Design. Ours even has that second layer of floating glass underneath the top:

Scan Design

Scan Design

And similar circular metal connecting pieces:

Scan Design

Scan Design

It also came with place mats that Patrick’s mom will give him when he comes home for Christmas.

Here’s what it looks like when you enter the house, but there’s some rearranging to come so the table is centered under the chandelier (or the chandelier will be repositioned by running it through another hook). Also, the fake tree is not yet decorated. We’re getting there…

New dining table!

But we decorated the fireplace today:

Fireplace at Christmas

Fireplace at Christmas

Okay, now I’m all caught up on the hundred + pictures I took this weekend (many of which are only on Flickr). All I have left to do this week is grade papers, proctor an exam, and attend a grading system tutorial. Then I’m FREE for a couple of weeks!

2 Responses to “Patrick’s Family Visits: Part III”

  1. Jenn Says:

    The fireplace is so pretty! It makes me want to go live in a log cabin up north somewhere for a week. And that table looks great in your place!

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks Jenn! Yeah, I wanted to get away for a trip somewhere cozy this break but it didn’t happen, so I guess the next best thing is to make it nice at home :)


Leave a Reply

