Asian Festival

October 25, 2009

What a surprise to take Herman on his morning walk and find the Heart of Florida Asian Festival in full swing. Bonus: Lunch from an Indian restaurant I’d been wanting to check out. Wish I could stay and enjoy it longer, but we’ve got work to do.

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

Asian Festival

 

PS: I was thinking back today on all the comments I’ve ever gotten about how boring Gainesville is, questions about what I would do for fun when I moved here, etc. In high school I was informed that young people resorted to cow-tipping for entertainment around here. But it turns out, there are so many things going on locally in Gainesville every day that I can only pick and choose a few to check out–and they’re all super close. With downtown Tampa or Orlando, I feel like there were a lot of big corporate buildings and banks that looked impressive but didn’t provide any cultural capital to the cities. And while I love Ybor, Thornton Park, etc., they were pretty small in themselves, and a long drive from the universities. In Orlando, I could walk to a Walgreens. In Gainesville, I can walk to the farmer’s market, local restaurants, the independent theater, the bank, festivals like this, and more. Wish I’d known sooner!

Leave a Reply

