A Saturday Inside

June 27, 2009

I haven’t been listening to much of anything lately. My Itunes and Ipod are generally only utilized for podcasts these days. However, I really like the latest Kings of Leon album. A lot. I’ve been told they’re really overplayed on the radio, but since I don’t listen to the radio much, it’s all fresh to me. My life’s soundtrack has been comprised of a tiny amount of musicians in the past couple of years–Sam Cooke, Fiona Apple, The Pierces, Feist, Boards of Canada, M83, coughBritneySpearscough, and I can’t think of many others. I can’t help but suspect that it’s partially because I live with a certain someone who has a habit of loudly commenting on most of my musical choices in a manner eerily similar to that of David Thorpe. Kings of Leon has not escaped his attention, but I don’t care. That singer’s voice is so what I want to hear right now.

Summer B starts Monday, and I’m excited! It feel nerdy admitting how happy I am to be helping teach Intro to Women’s Studies, but come on, it’s the class that got me (passionately) into the discipline I’m now in graduate school for. This is so great.

Hopefully some of this enthusiasm transfers over into my independent study, which has been really hard for me for some reason. I’d so much rather have a bunch of mundane, rote tasks hanging over my head so I could knock them out one by one. Instead, I’ve got to tap into a more creative part of my brain that just isn’t responding this summer. Ugh. Going to try to do some writing right now.

2 Responses to “A Saturday Inside”

  1. Zak Says:

    You’ve never truly heard Sam Cooke until you listen to his live performance at the Harlem Square Club in 63. The first time I heard it, the only analogy I could think of is this is not the finely polished, neatly packaged sound I’ve been fed all these years, like going on a quaint, pleasant stroll in the zoo to see the lion; rather, for the first time what I heard was the lion of Soul unleashed and out of his cage. The entire set is nothing but raw, visceral audible bliss. Judge for yourself:

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Amazing. Thanks so much. “Summertime” was the first Sam Cooke I ever heard; I think his version is so haunting and beautiful. Most of his other songs don’t resonate with me quite as strongly, but this is incredible.


Leave a Reply

