Bears, Books, Battlestar Galactica

June 14, 2009

Aw, Herman’s usually tearing this guy up, but today they’re cuddling. Lil cutie.

I made a vital, must-do, to-do list today, and did not to-do any of it. Except take a shower. That was quite an accomplishment, and I’m glad to have checked it off, officially, in ink. Now I’m sorta-kinda browsing writing center literature that addresses feminist pedagogy. It is interesting, but my mind wanders so much. Patrick and I just went to Barnes & Noble where I got a huge journal I’d been lusting after for years, and he bought White Like Me, which I’m (not so) secretly hoping to steal for myself before night’s end…

The journal, by the way, is huge. Did I say that already? Humongous. Horribly intimidating. The cashier told me she bought the same one for her brother, who wrote in it from Iraq and several other countries. I told her a beautiful gigantic journal like that deserves to travel. I partially got it for myself because it beckons me to travel and have great adventures. I think I’m going to make a real effort to write in it without judging myself, and without falling into the trap of hyper-self-consciously writing about the process of my hyper-self-conscious writing.

2 Responses to “Bears, Books, Battlestar Galactica”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I totally understand about the journal stuff. I love journals, and I keep like 3(weird I know)of them for different things but find myself judging myself. It’s totally worth it though to have a record of what you were thinking and feeling after years have gone by.

  2. lavietoni Says:

    That’s not weird! I have a similar thing goin’ on, except one of my journals is from a sad time in my life, another is from a pretty happy time, and there are several other variations that are context specific. Appropriately enough, the cover of my “sad” journal has a crying face on the cover–and I had no idea what I’d be writing in there when I bought it. Now I hate to open the thing, but I’m glad it’s there.


Leave a Reply

