Minestrone

May 27, 2009

I made minestrone for lunch, using a very easy recipe right from the package of my “Better than Bouillon” vegetable base. Easy is good. It wasn’t very brothy though. Is minestrone supposed to be brothy?

Topped with freshly grated Parmesan.

*As a side note, why do my canned kidney beans have high fructose corn syrup in them? I know canned foods are often salty, which is why I opted for the low sodium kind, only to realize it had h.f.c.s. in it. Hopefully rinsing the beans helps get rid of some of that junk…

4 Responses to “Minestrone”

  1. Ann Says:

    Hi toni,

    It does look like more of a stew, but still tasty! in my experience minestrone is more brothy.

    it look’s lovely though, how was it?

    Ann x

  2. belle Says:

    I think minestrone is indeed supposed to be brothy (the one my grandma makes is, she’s italian!)
    Yours looks SO good, makes me want to go get that vegetable base and make the same recipe!

  3. lavietoni Says:

    Yeah, stew is exactly the way Patrick described it! We both liked it, but next time I might pay more attention to how long I cook it (I probably let it go too long), or use a little more water.

  4. spamwise Says:

    Italian has three words that correspond to English “soup” — zuppa, or a light broth or consomme that doesn’t contain an abundance of ingredients; minestra, which may mean a vegetable soup or a “dry” soup; and minestrone, which traditionally means a hearty, substantial soup. Minestrone can be as thick as porridge or stew OR it can be light and brothy, but with a multitude of vegetables (and occasionally, meat).

    I have a couple of versions of minestrone on my blog.


Leave a Reply

