Anxiety

May 21, 2009

It’s been a rainy few days. I’ve been feeling very anxious lately. Is it the weather? The impending move? The independent study I haven’t been doing enough reading for? The endless to-do list I keep avoiding? The constant stream of horrifying articles describing the dismal future of academia, and worse, the grave consequences of taking out so many student loans? Bleh. It’s all those and more. It will be good to have a change of scenery this weekend. Saturday I’m going to finally check out possible future living quarters in person (I am really just dying to see one in particular, please let it be as breathtaking in reality as it is in pictures), and Sunday I’ll see my best friend Shelley in St. Augustine! Until then, I’m antsy. Playing fetch with Herm helps, a little.

3 Responses to “Anxiety”

  1. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! I just watched the video posted a while back with the girl talking about the pressures of being in 6th grade :( It’s heart-breaking to listen to such an articulate and beautiful young person talk about how she’s called slutty and wishes she were as pretty as other girls and models.

    I do sometimes take issue with the rather common feminist tactic of analyzing ads to illustrate their sexism. Stiletto Revolt seems to do a pretty good job picking ones that are blatantly degrading/violent and worth mentioning, but when this kind of statement is included in the analysis, it sort of turns me off, or at least makes me a little guarded:

    “While intimacy is nothing to be ashamed of, empty promiscuity is rarely the route to self respect.”

    While I definitely am concerned with the oversexualization of girls and women in our society, especially in a way that is very restrictive and unhealthy and directed toward men’s pleasure, I also don’t like when the assumption is that sexuality or *promiscuity* is inherently bad, empty, degrading, etc. A lot of websites and essays devoted to breaking down sexist advertising seems to take that kind of angle. I’m really interested in “pro-sex” feminism that counters those ideas, and hope to do some more reading about it.

    But I look forward to going back through the archives, it looks like there’s a lot of powerful stuff there.

  2. lavietoni Says:

    That was long.


Leave a Reply

