No Potato Famine Here

May 14, 2009

I used this recipe as a guideline for the “spicy Indian potatoes with chilies” I made today. Ultimately, it was decent, but tasted too strongly of tomato paste, even though I added extra spices and used fiery “finger hot” peppers. Still, it was fun to make! I initially planned on documenting the entire cooking process, step-by-step, but I am way too scatterbrained and messy, and there was no way I could reveal how truly chaotic I am in the kitchen :) Maybe after I have a routine down.

I’m really happy to continue to move steadily away from pre-packaged foods, not that I make my own bread or spaghetti sauce or anything (yet!). I like that Patrick and I alternate cooking for each other and each enjoy it equally. Last night he made delicious black bean burgers and pomme frites with curried ketchup (I say “pomme frites” instead of “French fries” because he cooked them in the style that the local German-American “biergarten” cooks them, and they call them pomme frites!).

And so, without further ado, I leave you with a few pictures of some of the ingredients of today’s lunch, plus the final product.

Also, this is my new favorite Youtube channel, and I’m tempted to buy the DVD. I found it through another blog but I can’t remember which one :/ I probably enjoy depression-era cooking because it generally consists of potatoes or pasta. If only I ate as many beans and vegetables as I do potatoes and pasta…

3 Responses to “No Potato Famine Here”

  1. belle Says:

    those look SO GOOD.

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Thanks! They could have been better though :)

  3. cary herold Says:

    You’re so cooking for us.


Leave a Reply

