Feelin’ Good

April 30, 2009

Me on a couple of Isabelle’s business cards :)

isabellecard2b2

isabellecard1b1

Pictures from her blog.

I finally signed up for a photography class, which will run for about six weeks beginning in June. I am so excited that I’m actually following through with a hobby I’ve wanted to learn more about for a couple of years now, even in the midst of grad school. It’s kind of empowering to take so much on. I really admire well-rounded people who are “jacks of all trades,” and I guess that’s a goal I have for myself. I always want to be learning throughout my life. I understand the need–and enjoy–having certain, long-term, focused career goals, but I plan on pursuing as many other creative outlets as possible; photography, foreign languages, cooking, yoga, writing, and other artistic endeavors.

All I have left for the semester is grading. Today I’m going to do a little cleaning around the apartment and then get to work, because tomorrow I’m going to South Florida for a long weekend! I’m really looking forward to having a relaxing few days in Ft. Lauderdale, especially with no homework to stress me out. I’ll probably even go to the beach. I love waking up on mornings when I’m about to take a fun trip; packing up the car, loading music on the IPODs, stocking up on snacks at a gas station, and hitting the road. Very few things make me happier, other than maybe heading off to the airport!

4 Responses to “Feelin’ Good”

  1. belle Says:

    You’re already a great photographer, it’s exciting you’ll be taking classes! I guarantee you will have some good ‘photo critique’ stories to share. XD

  2. lavietoni Says:

    Oh god…I hadn’t even thought about critiques. I had just been thinking, ok, are these people going to explain shutter speed and f-stops and metering and all that stuff in a way that I can actually understand. I don’t want to deal with photo critiques!

  3. cary herold Says:

    I want some of those business cards! They’re tres magnifique!


  4. […] I didn’t use my exercise DVDs, do much swimming, or take a great vacation, but I did finally sign up for a photography class, and as we will see in later recaps, found a house, got glasses, and did […]


Leave a Reply

