Tea and a Summer List

April 28, 2009

tea3

Patrick made me tea tonight, and brought the milk and honey to my bedside table. I thought the milk was cute.

So I recently mentioned creating a “Summer List.” Let’s get this baby started. This is not so much a to-do list (frankly, I don’t want to be reminded of all the stuff I’ve got hanging over my head), but rather, a compilation of activities I look forward to, realistically or not.

-Stick with my yoga and African dance DVDs, and maybe introduce weight training (!!).
-Finish the books I’ve been working on in little bits and pieces at the dining room table–Revolutionary Road, Life is Elsewhere, The Graveyard Book, Letter to a Christian Nation, and Self-Help.
-If time permits, look into an introductory photography class.
-Make a Blurb book?
-Find a home in Gainesville.
-Acquire: Glasses, a passport, and a decent bike (yeah, I think I said this a year ago).
-Get a haircut, do something new with the color, and splurge on a massage.
-Spend time at the pool and the beach. Swim, swim, swim.
-Consider what topics truly interest me, so that I can incorporate them into my studies. For now I have adoption, photography, home birth, and food (from vegetarianism to visual representations to agricultural practices).
-Visit South Florida and Jacksonville, of course, but take a short trip elsewhere (the Keys?).
-See Shelley!
-Go to Shannon’s place at the beach, and take some nice pictures of my lovely siblings.
-Wake up early and catch some beautiful mornings.
-Be a stealthy shopper of home decor; visit garage sales and thrift stores with Patrick.
-Cook a really awesome, complex meal.
-Invite friends over.
-Take Herman to the dog park and on nature trails.
-Eat at the Indian buffet for lunch.

Ok, that’s all for now. We’ll see what else comes to me :b

5 Responses to “Tea and a Summer List”


  1. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your blog. Keep up great writing

  2. ashley hietpas Says:

    I like your list.
    I should make one too.
    One of the co-owners of dandelion is pregnant and she has a blog that I want to read but I can’t find it! gah, but she was talking about hypno-birthing and how her sister did it. it was really interesting.


  3. […] of Florida and even fantasized about renting a pink house in Gainesville! I made a list of summer plans. How many of these did I accomplish? Well, I didn’t use my exercise DVDs, do much swimming, […]


  4. […] summer of 2009 was a creative time for me because I was moving, which meant months of thrifting (and scouring […]


Leave a Reply

