30 for 30: Day 6

November 18, 2010

30 for 30 Day 6

I realize that the “remixing” aspect of the 30 for 30 challenge is really not going to hit me until at least I’m a third of the way through. I haven’t yet had to deal with much of a challenge, if anything, it’s been faster getting dressed in the morning. I will admit I’m primping a little more knowing I’ll be putting a picture up each day…at least paying a little attention to my hair and makeup on days when I would normally not consider it at all.

30 for 30 Day 6

Today’s outfit was pretty simple, but I felt quite satisfied with it (much more so than the infamous–okay, only infamous to me–Day 3 look, which I think will be my least favorite of the entire damn challenge). I keep contemplating adding accessories like belts around the waist, yet most days, it doesn’t feel like “me,” rather, more like I’m trying to pull off looks I see online. It’s interesting trying to figure out the difference between being motivated to try new things–which I view in a positive light–and just wanting to kind of copy other looks in an attempt to keep up. I don’t dress like the fashion bloggers I like; for example, I rarely wear skirts, and I clearly don’t do much in the way of accessorizing. Previously I’ve mentioned that I loved this “closet visit” by Jeana Sohn. The reason it has stayed on my mind is because, rather than feeling any pressure to emulate the fashion depicted, I just felt inspired to explore my own style, to get creative in my own ways. And, well, I haven’t exactly done that yet, but I’ll be keeping these thoughts in mind.

A few other recent internet loves:
NYC Christmas photos.
This apartment.
Some of the more colorful rooms in this apartment. (I’m already envisioning doing more feminine decorating if I move out of the place I share with my boyfriend, pending an out-of-town job after grad school; funny, he says if he has own place it will be much less feminine than our current home.)
Recipes involving hazelnuts, because I just bought some without having any idea what to do with them.
This coffee station.
Water taxis to IKEA.
And Buenos Aires travel guides. Hey, a girl can dream.

I am so glad it’s almost Thanksgiving! I cannot wait to start cooking some vegetarian meals, see my friends and family, and, oh yeah, spend most of my days working on final papers. However, I’m not going to complain about that last point because even though the school holiday doesn’t officially start until Thursday, my Tuesday and Wednesday classes are canceled! YES.

3 Responses to “30 for 30: Day 6”

  1. patty Says:

    yeah the challenge begins once you’ve used all your pieces once haha.
    i’m having that dilemma now. oh well

    love your cardigan!! and stripes. it’s a win-win for me


  2. Simple but beautiful

    Oh those boots do it for me.

  3. lavietoni Says:

    @Patty – So true! Maybe I shouldn’t assume this will be such a breeze…I just haven’t gotten to the hard part yet. Yikes.

    @The Everyday Minimalist – Thank you! The boots are what do it for me too. I am so glad I bought them. I definitely plan to get lots of wear out of them for years to come.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

